Book Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

8909152

From Goodreads:

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

Review:
Attachments is officially my dream “if ever I get employed and I wish it would be sooner” love story. It is told in a unique way- altering between the exchange of e-mails between Beth and her bestfriend Jennifer (Love, Rosie/ Where Rainbows End attack) and narration of Lincoln’s life and his bizarre fascination with the two smart and funny ladies. Unlike Rainbow Rowell’s other books, (Landline, Eleanor and Park, and Fangirl) Attachments didn’t stick to me like a glue to a paper or a mother to a child at first.

At. First.

Rainbow Rowell always surprises me and before I knew it, I am more than glued to the book that I end up having three hours of sleep. Attachments is a light and the kind of adult contemporary book that will make you believe that somehow office hours are not such a buzzkill at all (based entirely when I am tagging along with my mother in their office where people talk upon entering and leaving their office). It talks about family, friendship, the pressure of marriage, having a child, getting married or not, sticking up with your job or not, and at the same I think in my part, always looking up for something good no matter how bad the situation is. Readers will easily love Beth and Jennifer’s friendship for they are the smart and witty women that well, reflect the personalities of other ladies out there. And who wouldn’t love the shy, our very own Cute Guy, Lincoln? I have to say that Rainbow Rowell did a great job on narrating a guy’s perspective, it is realistic and not over rated at all (you know the guys who act like a lady, think like a lady at all times). It is even refreshing that we are not rooting for rock stars for the nth time.

Rainbow Rowell, your first novel is a magic! Hoping we could have some tea together while I’m staring at you like a creepy fan. Ha-ha.

So if you are looking for a book, any book, just grab this one. I. Swear. Abraham Lincoln would be proud of you.

xoxo

Advertisements

Book Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All-the-Bright-Places-jkt

From Amazon:

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Review:

All The Bright Places is a mix of The Fault in Our Stars and Thirteen Reasons Why in my opinion. Both characters are smart just like Gus and Hazel and I remember Clay Jensen in the persona of Violet Markey and Hannah Baker in Theo Finch’s character.

It was unremarkey-bly beautiful and life-altering book that I’ve read. I am not saying that this the one-of-a-kind-i-need-book-two novel that I’ve read, more like this serve as an eye-opener to me and I do hope that you guys felt the same way. This book serve as a way for me to understand Finch- all the Finch that have been and are still in my life. The story of Violet and Markey have been close to my heart for I finally understood that I should not give up with my very own Finch. I never want him to feel so alone although I knew he felt like that every single day of his life.

It felt like there is something gnawing at my heart everytime I remember Theodore Finch. I was always render speechless every time it dawned on me that there are teenagers out there feeling like this- an empty feeling though you are alive, the anxiety like everything all around them is too much- the sound, colors, and people.

Jennifer Niven, I want to hug you right now.